Add Snippet

Team & Age Group RMSL Champions' Trophies

Upload and embed an image
Delete Edit_snippet

2017 Awards

Congratulations to the following Special Award Winners:

Mark Sessoms Award Winners: Julia Grogan, Brady Zerr, Bobby Calkins

Age Group Most Improved High Point Spirit of Homestead
6 & Under Girls Britta Duitsman Cadence Rebstock Meg Manion
6 & Under Boys Griffin Schroeder Dax Thomas Boden Lewis
7-8 Girls Abby Chess Lyla Getsch Kate Francis
7-8 Boys Jack Horsfield Jack Snow Niko Maniatis
9-10 Girls Mia Pellegrino Izzy Getsch Ellie Halford
9-10 Boys Brady Lenamond Eddie Chen Sean Goldy
11-12 Girls Bridget Goldy Teagan Steinmetz Anna VanWyk
11-12 Boys Taylor Howell Miles Steinberg Jackson Mahedy
13-14 Girls Shalyn Martinez Tori Miranda Laurie Frederickson
13-14 Boys Robert Link Thomas Sutherland Jackson Lambert
15-18 Girls Frances Healy Margaret Molke Lucy Maloney
15-18 Boys Spencer Smith Alex Sironen  Joe Morris
Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet

Awards Descriptions

The following awards are presented at the end of the swim season at our Year End Party.

Mark Sessoms Award

The Mark Sessoms Award is given to a swimmer (or swimmers) who display the
utmost dedication, sportsmanship, commitment, hard work, and passion for the
Homestead Hurricanes. The award honors an eighteen-year-old Hurricane who has
displayed these qualities during their career with the team. Mark was an
inspirational member of the Hurricanes who tragically lost his life in a car
accident and this award is given annually in his honor.

High Point

High Point is awarded to the swimmer in each Age Group who has scored the most points during regular season swim meets and the Rocky Mountain Swim League Finals. (Points earned from relays are not included).

During regular season meets, points are earned when a swimmer finishes in the top 3 overall for a specific event. 1st place is awarded 5 points, 2nd place 3 points, and 3rd place 1 point.

At the Rocky Mountain Swim League Finals, all 16 Finalists (Finalists and Consolation Finalists) earn points for their respective teams. Finalists are swimmers who placed in the top 8 at Prelims, and Consolation Finalists are swimmers who placed 9th through 16th at Prelims. Points are awarded as follows:

FINALS (Top 8 swimmers)

1st Place - 20 points

2nd Place - 17 points (3rd place - 16 points, 4th - 15 points, etc., through 8th place)

CONSOLATION FINALS (Top 9 - 16 swimmers)

9th Place - 9 points

10th Place - 7 points (11th place - 6 points, 12th place - 5 points, etc., through 16th place)

Separate heats are swam for the Finals and Consolation Finals groups. Although a Consolation Finals heat swimmer may post a time lower than a Finals heat swimmer, the Consolation Finals swimmer can place no higher than 9th overall. Conversely, regardless of the time posted by a Finals heat swimmer, he or she can't finish any lower than 8th.

Most Improved

This is awarded to a swimmer from each Age Group who is considered by the Age Group coach to have improved the most during the season.

Spirit of Homestead

This is awarded to the swimmer in each Age Group who embodies what it means to be a Homestead Hurricane swimmer. Coaches consider those swimmers who demonstrate teamwork, team spirit, sportsmanship, and overall character.

Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet
Add Snippet